Skip to main content
Questions? Contact a Planview product expert.

Fourth Annual PIPELINE Conference Champions Practical Product Innovation

More than 1,000 global product developers to gather online to discuss leveraging innovation to spur business growth

Austin, TX — May 13, 2013 — No travel is required for busy product development and R&D professionals to network with global peers and hear the latest thinking and best practices in innovation. Taking place on Thursday, May 16, the free online PIPELINE 2013 conference will feature practical advice from distinguished thought leaders and practitioners about how to bring the most innovative, profitable and differentiated products to market.

With more than 4,000 participants across 95 countries over the past three years, PIPELINE serves a growing global audience. This year's PIPELINE agenda -- with the theme of "Changing the Game with Innovation That Works" -- will include:

Finding the Needle in the Haystack
(Featured Presentation in German and in English on demand)
Time: 5:00 am CDT / 10:00 GMT
Speaker: Thomas Andrae, Director of 3M New Ventures, EMEA
Topic: This presentation looks at 3M Corporate's creation of 3M New Ventures to bring innovation in from the outside. Andrae will describe four portfolio companies that illustrate the overall charter of 3M New Ventures.

The Art and Science of Innovation
(Opening Keynote in English and in German on demand)
Time: 6:00 am CDT / 11:00 GMT
Speaker: Oliver Gassmann Ph.D., Professor, Innovation Author and Director of the Institute for Technology Management, University of St. Gallen
Topic: Excellence is achieved by not only addressing new products based on new technologies, but by innovating the business model. Gassmann will share his approach for a robust design methodology for business model innovation, using examples from 3M and Apple, as well as hidden champions such as Igus or Flyeralarm.

Maximizing Profits From Your New Product Portfolio -- Bigger, Better, Fewer
(Featured Presentation)
Time: 7:00 am CDT / 12:00 GMT
Speaker: Robert G. Cooper Ph.D., President, Product Development Institute and Professor emeritus, McMaster University
Topic: Most businesses focus their R&D efforts in the wrong areas -- on flat markets, mature technologies and tired product categories. Cooper will reveal how to break out of this box and change direction towards richer strategic arenas that will be your next engines of growth.

Turning ON Innovation in Your Culture, Teams and Organization
(Conference Keynote)
Time: 9:00 am CDT / 14:00 GMT
Speaker: Terry Jones, Founder and former CEO of Travelocity.com, and chairman of Kayak.com
Topic: Drawing from his experience as founder and CEO at Travelocity.com and from the ten other startups where he's worked, Jones helps product developers turn innovation from an academic exercise into an everyday skill.

2012 PDMA Comparative Performance Assessment Survey (CPAS) Results
Time: 12:00 pm CDT / 17:00 GMT
Speaker: Steve Markham PH.D., Associate Professor, North Carolina State University
Topic: Get usable results of the 2012 PDMA Comparative Performance Assessment Survey (CPAS). Learn what can REALLY improve your product launch success rate, not just the speculations of the latest management fad.

The Click Moment: Seizing Opportunity in an Unpredictable World
(Closing Keynote)
Time: 1:00 pm CDT / 18:00 GMT
Speaker: Frans Johansson, Innovation Author and Founder/CEO of the Medici Group
Topic: Success, we're told, is the outcome of careful planning, analysis, and strategy. But the truth is, success is far more random than we'd like to believe. Johansson will cover how to look for "Click Moments" -- rare opportunities, often serendipitous, to change course.

The PIPELINE conference offers a wealth of virtual learning and networking opportunities. In addition to live general sessions with Q&A, attendees can access on-demand breakout sessions, chat with peers and speakers in the interactive networking lounge, access valuable resources in the exhibit hall and innovation library, and more. Participants can log in at their convenience, and come and go as fits their schedule. The presentations will be available on demand for registrants through Aug. 16.

To register for the free event and on-demand access, visit PIPELINEconference.com/signup.

PIPELINE sponsors include host sponsor Planview and conference sponsors The Product Development and Management Association (PDMA), Kalypso, five i's and Brightidea. PIPELINE media sponsors include Innovation Fixer, Innovation Management.se, The Association of International Product Marketing and Management (AIPMM), Competence Site, Intelligent HQ, International Society for Professional Innovation Management (ISPIM), Medical Devices, Product Management Talk, Product Innovation Educators and Konstruktion.de.

Share This Page

Contact

Press Inquiries
pr@planview.com